Worldwide shipping (Free in Singapore)
The Indian Independence Bill (1947)


Sold out!

The Indian Independence Bill (1947)


Title: A Bill to make provision for the setting up in India of two independent Dominions
Author: Clement Attlee (Prime Minister), Sir Stafford Cripps, Mr Alexander, Mr Arthur Henderson
Publisher: His Majesty’s Stationery Office, 1947. Very very scarce.
Condition: Softcover, 19 pages. In good condition except rusty staples and some discolouration.

Sold out!

The famous Bill that changed South Asia forever on 15 August 1947.

It is difficult to know exactly how many of these were printed, but these are now extremely rare on the open market. Originally printed by the British Government and available for sale through booksellers. The Bill states:

To be purchased directly from H.M. STATIONERY OFFICE at the following addresses :
York House, Kingsway, London, W.C.2 ; x3a Castle Street, Edinburgh, 2
39-41 King Street, Manchester, 2; x St. Andrew’s Crescent Cardiff
Tower Lane, Bristol, x ; 8o Chichester Street, Belfast
Price 6d. net

First Section:

A Bill to make provision for the setting up in India of two
independent Dominions, to substitute other provisions
for certain provisions of the Government of India Act,
1935, which apply outside those Dominions, and to
provide for, other matters consequential on or connected
with the setting up of those Dominions. -18th July 1947.

BE it enacted by the King’s most Excellent Majesty, by and
with the advice and consent of the Lords Spiritual and
Temporal, and Commons, in this present Parliament assembled,
and by the authority of the same, as follows :-

1.-(i) As from the fifteenth day of August, nineteen hundred
and forty-seven, two independent Dominions shall be set up in
India, to be known respectively as India and Pakistan.

(2) The said Dominions are hereafter in this Act referred to as
the new Dominions”, and the said fifteenth day of August
is hereafter in this Act referred to as “the appointed day”.


1. The new Dominions.
2. Territories of the new Dominions.
3. Bengal and Assam.
4. The Punjab.
5. The Governor-General of the new Dominions.
6. Legislation for the new Dominions.
7. Consequences of the setting up of the new Dominions.
8. Temporary provision as to government of each of the new Dominions.
9. Orders for bringing this Act into force.
10. Secretary of State’s services, etc.
11. Indian armed forces.
12. British forces in India.
13. Naval forces.
14. Provisions as to the Secretary of State and the Auditor of Indian Home Accounts.
15. Legal proceedings by and against the Secretary of State.
16. Aden.
17. Divorce jurisdiction.
18. Provisions as to existing laws, etc.
19. Interpretation, etc.
20. Short title.

First Schedule-Bengal Districts provisionally included in the new Province of East Bengal.
Second Schedule-Districts provisionally included in the new Province of West Punjab.
Third Schedule-Modifications of Army Act and Air Force Act in relation to British forces.